Top 15 Video Game Cinematics

Hey there guys and welcome to another video post. This time I’m sharing my top 15 best video game cinematics ever! Mind you, the same game gets featured a couple of times, but their cinematics are so incredibly awesome I’m sure you’ll forgive me. Note that most of these will be cinematic openings rather than cutscenes. So let’s kick it off with number 15 shall we?

# 15 – World of Warcraft Opening Cinematic

 

 

Blizzard is still the undisputed champion of cinematics in my book. You’ll see more by Blizzard in this post, don’t worry. This one is the opening cinematic to World of Warcraft, released back in 2004. Note the extremely beatiful graphics and music in the cinematic. One can’t help but expect an awesome game after seeing this.

# 14 – Jak III Opening Cinematic

 
Chose this one for two simple reasons. One being the comical note provided by Daxter and Pecker. And two is the ‘story’ if I can call it that. Jak III starting with his exile to the Wastelands after saving everyone’s ass. Not something I was expecting at least!
# 13 – Gears of War 2 Opening Cinematic 
 
Can’t really say why I like this. Must be the unspeakable badassery of a Gears of War game. I really like the ‘Saving private ryan’-point of view, ie the massive clusterfuck that a war is. Like the narrating as well. An honorable 13th place for Gears of War 2.
 
# 12 – Warhammer 40K: Dawn of War Cinematic
 
 
What can I say? I really like massive battles in beautiful CGI. Kinda dig the cartoon-y look as well.
 
# 11 – Final Fantasy VIII Intro
 
Final Fantasy games are known for their beautiful cinematics, but personally I think this one stands out. Released in 1999 this cinematic looked pretty sweet for its time. Not to mention the music to make it perfect.
 
# 10 – God of War 3 Opening Cutscene
 
 
Ah, entering the top 10! This doesn’t really need any explanation, does it? Greek mythology, huge fights, Kratos pumped full of testosteron, beautiful CGI AND dramatic music. ‘Nuff said I think.
 
# 9 – Star Wars: The Old Republic: Jedi vs Sith
 
 
Bioware once again proves it knows how to make an RPG, and how to make awesome cinematics. The Old Republic has everything any Star Wars fan can wish for. Awesome Star Wars music, epic lightsaber battles and the list keeps going on.
 
# 8 – Killzone Opening Cinematic
 
 
Killzone, one of the best games ever in my eyes started with this amazing looking cinematic that still gives me shivers when I see it. The speech, the invasion … it’s all so amazingly good looking. A very honorable 8th place.
 
# 7 – Halo 2: Giving Back The Bomb Cutscene
 
 
Master Chief chucking the Covenant’s bomb back at them paired with awesome music and a small comical note from Cortana is enough to earn a spot in my top 10! ‘To give the covenant back their bomb’ indeed.
 
# 6 – Warcraft III: Hellscream’s end
 
 
The cinematic ending to another one of Blizzard’s top notch games. A story of bravery, honor and a royal ass-kicking. # 6 on the list, enjoy.
 
# 5 – Halo 3 Commercial
 
 
This isn’t so much of an in-game cinematic but certainly worth a spot in my top 5. Just because it got me so hyped about Halo 3. It doesn’t get much better than seeing the Chief jumping right into battle.
 
# 4 – Warcraft III: Arthas’ Betrayal
 
 
Chose this one because it’s so touching. We get the first glimpse of the future Lich King in this cinematic where he murders his own father and unleashes darkness upon the world.
 
# 3 – Dragon Age: Origins (Sacred Ashes)
 
 
Entering the top 3 we get a cinematic from Dragon Age: origins. I chose this one primarily for the eye candy that it offers. Absolutely breathtaking CGI in this one.
 
# 2 – DC Universe Online Opening Cinematic
 
 
This one is really awesome, not only because of the amazing graphics, but also because it shows a somewhat darker side of the DC Universe. Oh, and a really pissed off Superman always works.
 
# 1 – World of Warcraft: Wrath Of The Lich King Cinematic
 
 
Ah finally, number 1! And yes, it’s another WoW cinematic (haters gonna hate). Can’t argue that it’s not great though, aside from the graphics I really like the sound effects and the narrative voice. Gives me chills every time.
 
And that concludes my top 15 video game cinematics. Do you agree with my list? What would you have done differently? Let me know in the comment section below!
 
/Niels

Author: Niels Van Hellemont

Hi, my name is Niels and I'm a long time fan of movies, anime, comics, games and whatnot. Could say that I'm a bit of a fanatic when it comes to the above mentioned things. I'm currently studying for a Bachelor After Bachelor in Advanced Business Management - Human Resources Management.

9 thoughts on “Top 15 Video Game Cinematics”

      1. I’m not sure if the chinematic wasn’t already released in May. In any case, it should be added 😉

Leave a Reply

